## **MEETING MINUTES**

## THE ASSOCIATED STUDENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO

The Wednesday, November 1, 2017 meeting of the Associated Students Senate was held at 6:00pm in the Price Center East Forum, Speaker Evan Jan presiding and Clerk Ankit Vyas was present.

The roll was called.

The following voting members were present: Colin Feeney, Monica Valdez, Freddy Arriola, Tianna De La Paz, Jacqueline Uy, Alex Harbert, Daniel Carnahan, Alex Nguyen, Zaid Mansuri, Caroline Siegel-Singh, Zahabiya Nuruddin, Darron Woods, Sne Lochan, Anika Balse, Sim Bhatia, Lorraine Lopez, Elvin Topalov, Kevin Lee, Danielle Lee, Kenji Asakura, Aseel Ali, Itsi Rea, Miguel Tapia, Leony Mijares, Kat Avendano, Niall O'Hanlon, Lesly Figueroa, Matthew Arrollado, Refilwe Gqajela,

The following non-voting members were present: Kate Pham, Kim Custodio, Kiara Gomez, Punita Patel, Abraham Galvan, Meri Yedigaryan, Jessica Tawn, Helen Cao.

President Figueroa motion to reorder to Special Orders. The motion passed.

The Student Sustainability Collective presented on their Fall 2017 updates.

President Figueroa motioned to table the Special Presentation by Vice-President External Gqajela and President Figueroa regarding the Board of Regents and University of California Office of the President by one week. The motion passed.

SPACES presented on their Fall 2017 updates.

Senator Feeney motioned to reorder back into Reports of External News

Vice President External Gqajela reported on behalf of Legislative Committee that the following items were passed: Appointment of Nathan Park as A.S. Office of Finance Chief of Staff effective immediately until Week 10 of Spring Quarter. Sponsored by Andrew Thai.

Appointment of Hsinyi (Angela) Chen as A.S. Office of Finance Project Director effective immediately until Week 10 of Spring Quarter. Sponsored by Andrew Thai Appointment of Sophia Nguyen Tran as A.S. Office of Finance Financial Analyst effective immediately until Week 10 of Spring Quarter. Sponsored by Andrew Thai. Appointment of Bertina Zhang as A.S. Office of Finance Financial Analyst effective immediately until Week 10 of Spring Quarter. Sponsored by Andrew Thai. Appointment of Rachel Lee as Triton Outfitters Marketing Intern effective immediately until appointment of successor. Sponsored by Andrew Thai. Appointment of Jon Bernabe as Triton Outfitters Marketing Intern effective immediately until appointment of Jon Bernabe as Triton Outfitters Marketing Intern effective immediately until appointment of

successor. Sponsored by Andrew Thai. Appointment of Angela Yang as Director of Outreach under the AS Office of the President effective immediately until Week 8 of Spring Quarter. Sponsored by Lesly Figueroa. Appointment of Bhavika Kaneria as Policy Research Analyst under the AS Office of the President effective immediately until Week 8 of Spring Quarter. Sponsored by Lesly Figueroa. Appointment of Celia Sanchez-Zelaya as Policy Research Analyst under the AS Office of the President effective immediately until Week 8 of Spring Quarter. Sponsored by Lesly Figueroa. Appointment of Eniyah Johnson as Chief of Staff for the Office of Local Affairs effective immediately until the appointment of successor. Sponsored by Refilwe Ggajela. Appointment of Shawnpreet Matharu to the position of Director of Special Events in the Office of College Affairs effective immediately until Week 8 of Spring Quarter. Sponsored by Lesly Figueroa Appointment of Jon Bernabe to the position of Director of Marketing in the Office of College Affairs effective immediately until Week 8 of Spring Quarter. Sponsored by Lesly Figueroa. Appointment of Nick Lin to the position of Chief of Staff in the Office of College Affairs effective immediately until Week 8 of Spring Quarter. Sponsored by Lesly Figueroa. Appointment of Krina Desai to the position of Senior Advocate effective immediately until Week 8 of Spring Quarter. Sponsored by Lesly Figueroa.

Financial Controller Thai reported on behalf of Finance Committee that the following item were tabled indefinitely: Allocation of \$75.04 to the American Sign Language Club's Board Game Night for a total of \$75.04. Sponsored by Andrew Thai.

Senator Feeney motioned to approve the 2017-2018 SPACES Budget. The motion was seconded by Senator Bhatia. The motion PBC.

Senator Lee motioned to pass the 2017-2018 SSC Budget. The motion was seconded by Senator Feeney. The motion PBC

Vice President of Campus Affairs Arollado motioned to add the following into New Business, which was seconded by Senator Feeney and PBC: Appointment of Paul Martinez at Warren Senator effective immediately until appointment of successor. Sponsored by Matthew Arrollado Appointment of Kim Lol as Vice-Chair Internal for the All Campus Commuter Board effective immediately until appointment of successor. Sponsored by Matthew Arrollado. Appointment of Roderick Cerdeira as Vice-Chair External for the All Campus Commuter Board effective immediately until appointment of successor. Sponsored by Matthew Arrollado.

Vice President of Campus Affairs Arollado motioned to pass the items added to New Business. The motion was seconded by Senator Feeney. It PBC.

Senator Feeney motioned to add the following to New Business, it was seconded by Senator Lee and PBC: Approval of Cancellation of November 22nd, 2017 A.S. Senate Meeting due to the Thanksgiving Holiday. Sponsored by Colin Feeney

Senator Feeney motioned to pass the item added to New Business. The motion was seconded by Senator Lochan. It was PBC.

Senator Feeney moved to adjourn the meeting, which passed.

The roll was called.

The following voting members were present: Colin Feeney, Aseel Ali, Itsi Sanchez Rea, Monica Valdez, Miguel Tapia, Leony Mijares, Nhi Nguyen, Freddy Arriola, Tianna De La Paz, Jacqueline Uy, Alex Harbert, Daniel Carnahan, Alex Nguyen, Zaid Mansuri, Caroline Siegel-Singh, Kevin Li, Sne Lochan, Anika Balse, Kat Avendano, Darron Woods, Lorraine Lopez, Elvin Topalov, Danielle Lee, Lesly Figueroa, Matthew Arrollado, Refilwe Gqajela, Andrew Thai

The following non-voting members were present: Kate Pham, Abraham Galvan, Meri Yedigaryan, Jessica Tawn, Helen Cao, Oscar Gomez, Denasia Gaines.

Meeting adjourned at 8:12 PM, November 1, 2017.

Ankit Vyas, Clerk Lesly Figueroa, President